Scorchers crowned 2021 WBBL champions

8 months ago 110
PR Distribution

A nine of 3 has go a nine of four.

Just 3 Women's Big Bash League franchises had won a rubric heading into Saturday night's last - the Thunder, Sixers and Heat - but the Scorchers person joined the party.

The Perth outfit has downed the Adelaide Strikers by 12 runs to beryllium crowned champions of the seventh variation of the WBBL.

READ MORE: Barmy Army backflips connected awkward Paine stance

READ MORE: 'Disturbing' probe uncovers disfigured Tokyo truth

READ MORE: NBA whacks LeBron with good for 'obscene gesture'

Chasing 147 to win, the Strikers had to people 22 runs from the last implicit of the game, but right-arm Scorchers speedy Taneale Peschel delivered for her skipper to guarantee a Perth victory, conceding 9 runs astatine the death.

After being sent successful to bat by Adelaide skipper Dane van Niekerk, Perth established a coagulated level done a 52-run concern betwixt openers Beth Mooney (35) and Sophie Devine (19).

Scorchers all-rounder Marizanne Kapp besides shone successful an unbeaten sound of 31 arsenic Perth posted 5-146.

And though the Scorchers had the Strikers reeling astatine 2-12 successful the sixth over, Adelaide's Tahlia McGrath (36 from 29) and Laura Wolvaadt combined for 65 runs to transportation their broadside to 77 by the autumn of the 3rd wicket.

But, ultimately, the Scorchers' bowling - led by Paschel with figures of 2-23 from 4 overs - made a palmy tally pursuit excessively difficult.

"To beryllium capable to play a location last and get the turnout they did, I deliberation this is ace peculiar for them," said Sydney Sixers all-rounder Erin Burns connected Fox.


The Perth Scorchers are the champions of the 2021 Women's Big Bash League. (Getty)
Read Entire Article